Breaking news: Telkwa becomes the 11th GE Free zone in BC

On the 11th March the village of Telkwa, in northwestern BC, became the 11th GE Free zone in BC. The resolution is below.

The other GE Free zones are:

Powell River, Nelson, Kaslo, Rossland, New Denver, Salt Spring Island, Denman Island, Richmond, Saanich and Metchosin.

In addition, a resolution against the GE apple, adopted by the Okanagan-Smilkameen Regional District, was endorsed by all BC municipalities in September 2012. Cherryville voters in a recent poll voted 96% in favor of a resolution against GE crops. There are seven other municipalities working on GE Free zones right now – if you want to get involved in your community, email and go to the resources tab so see what becoming a GE Free Zone means.

Telkwa resolution

WHEREAS the use of Genetically Modified Organisms (GMO’s) in agricultural activities is inconsistent with the Village of Telkwa’s Official Community Plan and Integrated Community Sustainability Plan;

AND WHEREAS the nature of cross pollination is not limited by municipal boundaries;

BE IT RESOLVED that the use of GMO’s for agricultural purposes is unwelcome in the Village of Telkwa;

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Village of Telkwa encourages it’s neighbouring municipalities and the Regional District of Bulkley-Nechako to adopt similar positions.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s